Forskning ved Københavns Universitet - Københavns Universitet

Bo Wegge Laursen
Bo Wegge Laursen


Bo Wegge Laursen (b. 1970) is professor of chemistry and Director of Nano-Science Center at the University of Copenhagen. He obtained his Ph.D. in 2001, work carried out at Risø National Laboratory, Department of Condensed Matter Physics and Chemistry. In 2004 he became affiliated with the Department of Chemistry at the University of Copenhagen as assistant professor, in 2009 as associate professor and in 2013 as full professor. In 2003-4 he was post-doctoral fellow at the University of California, Los Angeles. Bo Wegge Laursen's main research interest lies within the areas of: fluorescents in organic materials, molecular sensors, self-assembly in molecular materials, molecular electronics and graphene. He has published more than 80 papers in peer reviewed scientific journals including several contributions to: Advanced Materials, Angewandte Chemie, Journal of the American Chemical Society and Nature Communications. Bo Wegge Laursen actively seeks to connect his basic research to innovation. He has several fruitful industry collaborations, 5 patents/patent applications, and co-founded two spin out companies: FRS Systems ApS ( ) and KU Dyes ( ) where he is CEO.  

Primære forskningsområder

  • Fluorescens og fosforescens i organiske materialer
  • Molekylære sensorer
  • Selv organisering i molekylære materialer
  • Molekylær elektronik
  • Graphene

Undervisnings- og vejledningsområder

  • Organisk kemi
  • Organisk syntese
  • Fotofysik og fotokemi
  • Nano-kemi
  • Materiale-kemi

Aktuel forskning

Thomas Just Sørensen, Dong Shi, Bo W. Laursen, “Tetramethoxy-aminorhodamine (TMARh) – a bichromophore, an improved fluorophore, and a pH-switch”, Chemistry - A European Journal, 2016, 22, 7046

Zhongming Wei, Xintai Wang, Anders Borges, Marco Santella, Tao Li, Jakob Kryger Sørensen, Marco Vanin, Wenping Hu, Yunqi Liu, Jens Ulstrup, Gemma C. Solomon, Qijin Chi, Thomas Bjørnholm, Kasper Nørgaard, and Bo W. Laursen. “Triazatriangulene as Binding Group for Molecular Electronics”, Langmuir, 2014, 30, 14868–14876

Dong Shi, Christian Schwall, George Sfintes, Erling Thyrhaug, Peter Hammershøj, Marite Cárdenas, Jens B. Simonsen, and Bo W. Laursen, “Counterions control whether self-assembly leads to formation of stable and well-defined unilamellar nanotubes or nanoribbons and nanorods”, Chemistry – A European Journal, 2014, 20, 6853-6856

Thomas Just Sørensen, Erling Thyrhaug, Mariusz Szabelski, Rafal Luchowski, Ignacy Gryczynski, Zygmunt Gryczynski, and Bo W. Laursen, “Azadioxatriangulenium: a long fluorescence lifetime fluorophore for large biomolecule binding assay”, Methods Appl. Fluoresc., 2013, 1,025001 (6pp).

Søren Petersen, Magni Glyvradal, Peter Bøggild, Wenping Hu, Robert Feidenhans´l and Bo W. Laursen, “Graphene Oxide as a Mono Atomic Blocking Layer”, ACS Nano, 2012, 6, 8022–8029.

Tao Li, Jonas Rahlf Hauptmann, Zhongming Wei, Søren Petersen, Nicolas Bovet, Tom Vosch, Jesper Nygård, Wenping Hu, Yunqi Liu, Thomas Bjørnholm, Kasper Nørgaard, and Bo W. Laursen, “Solution-Processed Ultrathin Chemically Derived Graphene Films as Soft Top Contacts for Solid-State Molecular Electronic Junctions”, Advanced Materials, 2012, 24, 1333–1339. 

ID: 13640